On July 31, 2015, the American Bar Association (ABA) approved the merger of Rutgers School of Law–Camden and Rutgers School of Law–Newark into one institution—Rutgers Law School—with distinct locations in Camden and Newark. The unified Rutgers Law School will begin using a single application in the fall of 2015 for the 2016 entering class.

A concept to reunify—the schools were separated in 1967 into two Rutgers entities, with their own accreditation, faculty, and curricula—was first introduced by law school leadership in 2011. In 2013, Rutgers President Robert Barchi announced the integration plan, which had been embraced by both faculties. In anticipation of the pending ABA action, the Rutgers Board of Governors voted on April 2, 2015, to approve the merger.